The old souls of child refugees

Standing against a stark background, his young subjects stare directly into the camera, their big eyes revealing souls aged too soon.”They’re children in age, but they’re not, in a way. They’re grown up,” Muheisen told National Geographic in June 2016. “I looked at a 5-year-old girl’s face and I touched my face — and my face was softer than hers, for God’s sake,” Muheisen said. “So that’s why I came close with my camera to show all these details in their faces.”Here’s a selection of Muheisen’s striking photos of the world’s child refugees.

Source: The old souls of child refugees

Leave a Reply

